Town of Viking

You are here: Home Government Municipal Bylaws

Municipal Bylaws


Town of Viking is incorporated under the laws of the Municipal Government Act of Alberta.  Under the Municipal Government Act,  Viking town council may pass bylaws respecting the following matters:

  • The safety, health and welfare of people and the protection of people and property.
  • People, activities and things in, on or near a public place or place that is open to the public.
  • Nuisances, including unsightly property.
  • Transport and transportation systems.
  • Businesses, business activities and persons engaged in business.
  • Services provided by or on behalf of the municipality.
  • Public utilities.
  • Wild and domestic animals and activities in relation to them.
  • The enforcement of bylaws.

Bylaws are enforced by the local R.C.M.P. as well as Town of Viking Bylaw Enforcement officers.

Frequently requested bylaws

For information on by-laws that are not listed, please contact the Town Office 780-336-3466.

Bookmark and Share

Viking Election

voteViking Election Results

October 16, 2017

Viking Mayor:

Vote Results:
Cindy Lefsrud - 161
Jason Ritchie - 225    - Elected

Councillors - All positions acclaimed

Judy Acres - Councillor
Dana Ewashko - Councillor
Maynard Huibers - Councillor
Rod Hunter - Councillor
Clinton Nearing - Councillor
Laurel Weisgerber - Councillor